Walkerville's Achterhof wins Class D state meet race

SHEPHERD, Oct. 21 — Walkerville sophomore Shane Achterhof won Saturday’s Class D state meet at Shepherd, matching the school record with a time of 15:55.9.

The Wildcats’ team continued to make strides, placing fifth and edging Deckerville by three points for the spot.

Coach Ben Van Wyk called Achterhof’s work - he won by 20 seconds -  “jaw-dropping”.

Tyler Sheehy and Dillon Brown snuck into the top 30, with Sheehy in 27th and Brown 30th. Their times were 17:43.5 and 17:45.4; Brown’s was a personal best time and Sheehy’s was a season best.

Alex Sheehy also ran a personal best, 18:15.5, and placed 45th. Aaron Conger took 87th place and ran a personal best, too, at 19:41.8.

On the girls’ side, Julie Sheehy continued to rapidly improve, slicing two minutes off her personal best for a time of 24:55.5, good for 91st place. Emily Achterhof ran 104th (25:51.5) and Hayley Adams placed 134th (31:58.6).

The Pentwater boys finished in 12th place in the race, led by Owen Knudsen in 55th (18:30.8) and Max Stoneman in 58th (18:37.6). Other Falcon scorers were Iain Stewart (89th, 19:42.6), Julien Nyberg (90th, 19:43.3) and Billy Sproul (20:36.9). Sproul nipped Mitchell Smith by 0.4 of a second for the Falcons’ last scoring spot.

For the girls, Brianna Adams placed 55th (23:07.5) and Madeline Reitsma was 118th (27:09.1).