SHELBY — At its Dec.17, 2019 meeting, the Shelby Village Planning Commission (PC) voted to amend its bylaws and reduce the number of PC members from 9 to 7.

“It has become increasingly difficult to get a quorum for meetings. With nine on the committee we had to have five attend a meeting for a quorum,” said PC member Paul Inglis.

Both Kathy Martin and Wallace Martin terms expired Dec. 31, and they did not wish to seek another term. Committee members Richard Setlack and Timothy Horton’s terms were also set to expire Dec. 31, but agreed to serve again. The PC committee recommended the village council reappoint Richard Setlack for a one year term from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31, 2020 and Timothy Horton for a two-year term from Jan. 1, 2020 to Dec. 31, 2021.

John Sutton moved and Andy Near supported a motion to approve the PC’s recommendation naming Setlack and Horton to new terms. All council members voted in the affirmative. Personnel committee Chairperson John Sutton thanked both Martins for their past service on the PC committee.

The Michigan Planning Enabling Act, Act 33 of 2008 governs the number required to serve on a planning commission; either 9, 7 or 5. Also in towns with a population of 5,000 residents or less, up to two members are allowed to serve on the committee who do not reside in the village. PC member, Timothy Horton, fits this criteria as he does not live within village limits. The current Planning Commission committee includes Mark Baker (term ending Dec. 2020), Timothy Horton (new term ending Dec. 2021), Paul Inglis (term ending Dec. 2020, aligns with Village Council President term), Tara Kelley (term ending December 2020), Samantha Near (term ending December 2020), Richard Setlak — Chair (new term ending December 2020) and John Sutton — Vice-Chair (term ending December 2020, aligns with Village Council Trustee term).